Chi siamo


Consortium of universities

Cineca is a non profit Consortium, made up of 70 Italian universities*, 8 Italian Research Institutions and the Italian Ministry of Education.
Today it is the largest Italian computing centre, one of the most important worldwide. With more seven hundred employees, it operates in the technological transfer sector through high performance scientific computing, the management and development of networks and web based services, and the development of complex information systems for treating large amounts of data.

It develops advanced Information Technology applications and services, acting like a trait-d'union between the academic world, the sphere of pure research and the world of industry and Public Administration. 

The Members of the Consortium:

  • Universities

BariPolytechnic of BariBasilicata, BergamoBolognaBrescia, Cagliari, CalabriaCamerino, Catania, Chieti, Cassino e Lazio Meridionale, Catania, Chieti, "Magna Græcia" di Catanzaro, Enna (Kore)FerraraFlorenceFoggia, GenoaInsubriaL'Aquila IMT Istitute for Advanced Studies of Lucca, MacerataMessina, Milan, Milan Bicocca, Milano Bocconi, Polytechnic of Milan,Milano Cattolica del Sacro Cuore, Milano IULM, Modena and Reggio EmiliaMoliseNaples Federico II, University of Campania "Luigi Vanvitelli", Naples Parthenope, Naples l'OrientalePalermo, Padua, ParmaPavia, IUSS of PaviaPerugia, University for foreigners of Perugia, Piemonte Orientale “Amedeo Avogradro” (Vercelli), Scuola Normale Superiore of PisaScuola Superiore Sant'Anna of Pisa, PisaPolytechnic of Marche (Ancona), Mediterranean of Reggio CalabriaRome Foro Italico, Sapienza University of RomeRome 3,, Roma 3, Roma Tor Vergata, Salento, Salerno Sannio, SassariSiena, Teramo, TurinPolytechnic of Turin, TrentoTrieste, Tuscia (Viterbo), International School for Advanced Studies of Trieste - SISSA , UdineUrbinoVenice Ca' FoscariVenice IUAV, Verona.


  • Institutions

The Ministry of Education, University and Research (MIUR), the National Research Council (CNR), the Council for research in agriculture and the agrarian economy analysis (Crea), the National Institute for the Evaluation of the Educational System of Instruction (Indire), the National Institute of Astrophysics -INAF,  the National Institute of Nuclear Physics - INFN. the National Institute of Oceanography and Experimental Geophysics - OGSthe National Institute of Documentation, Innovation and Education Research (Invalsi), the Zoological Station "Anton Dohrn" (SZN).